Running automatic actions using "daily background job for tasks" event name

Hi everyone, I wonder if someone can help me.

Ive been using Kanbaord for a few years now and I really like it, though this is my first post in this forum!

Just recently I’ve been looking in to automatic actions to help manage the growing number of tasks but I’m having trouble understanding how I get those actions which use the daily background job for task to complete.

For example I have an automatic action to close a task if there is no activity on it after a number of days once its in a particular column. In my case that column is called “DONE” I want any task moved into “DONE” to stay there for X days before being closed automatically.

Reading the documentation I believe I need to create a CRON job to trigger the “Daily background job for tasks” event name.

Ive followed that documentation and set up a CRON job in my Website Control Panel. Which looks like this

0 0 * * * cd /path/to/kanboard && ./cli cronjob

That runs as expected from a time point of view but doesn’t trigger anything in my Kanboard. Instead I get an email confirming “This script run only from the command line”

Ive asked my ISS about this. They said I need to change to CRON job command to the following

0 0 * * * php -q /path/to/kanboard && ./cli cronjob

When I do that again nothing happens on the Kanboard though the email get this time says “No input file specified” which seems a bit more promising.

I will hold my hand up here and say I know nothing about CRON jobs, this is all new to me.

My guess from the above is the entry I have created is a trigger that runs a specific job at the pre-set time, in my case once a day at midnight.

Assuming that’s correct then my problem seems to be though the trigger is working, the job I’m trying to run, i.e. the CRON job referred to in the above documents, is either:-

• not in the location Im looking for it or
  • isnt there because I still need to create it or