New Plugin: TagManager

Hello all

I’m writing a new plugin to simply the display of project and global tags. Tags should be accessible easily at also on-the-fly as it is a quick workflow process for workload management.

Is there anybody who wants to contrinute to the plugin? I can work on the interface but I’m not good with functionality.

Would be nice:

• if we could add a ‘state’ (new column in database) to mark tags as active or disabled
  • add a timestamp field in database so we know when the tag was last updated - this might help with ‘old’ tags
  • toggle states if database fields can be created.
  • edit or add tags on the fly without editing the task page, a seperate button/popup
1 Like

Thx, that would really bring some progress. Currently I use an explication table in a project wiki:

Tag Funcction / Meaning Remark
Tag 01 Explication 01
Tag 02 Explication 02 Remark 02
Tag 03 Explication 03

and so on.

But it sould be much more comfortable / user friendly to have something like that directly in the KANBOARD

To be honest, I’m (almost) fully satisfied with Kanboards tag handling, or I don’t see the use case for your plugin. Maybe you could give more details?

• State of a tag, what purpose?
  • Timestamp tag was last updated? You mean assigned/used? OK, this might be helpful in some situations, but the required effort is IMHO beyond anything.
  • Edit or add tags on the fly without editing the task page: Hell no! I would rather not allow that new tags can be created for anything by anyone.

Just my 2 cents.

thanks for both answers.

I’m a frontend person so no added functionality will occur without any help as I simply dont know enough about coding and databases.

For the moment I will just re-design the tags page as I need it. I want to see my project tags ALONG WITH the available global tags, which was the reason I started the plugin.

State of tag… to show if it is active or disabled